Red Oak Community School District Meeting of the Board of Directors Meeting Location: Red Oak Inman Primary Media Center Red Oak Inman Primary Campus July 8,2019

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Red Oak Community School District was called to order by Vice President Kathy Walker at 7:00 p.m. at the Red Oak Inman Primary Cafeteria.

Present

Directors: Bret Blackman, Roger Carlson, Bryce Johnson, Kathy Walker Superintendent Tom Messinger, Business Manager Deb Drey

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Blackman to approve the agenda with the order of agenda items at the discretion of the meeting chair. Motion carried unanimously.

Good News from Red Oak Schools

Alan Spencer, Tess Mittag, and Tom Messinger received awards from the Iowa Association of Agricultural Educators.

Spencer and Mittag attended professional development out of state.

Two FFA members traveled to Fairbanks, Alaska.

Visitors Address Board

Tom Solt and Steve Thomas addressed the Board regarding transportation issues during the 2018-2019 school year.

Consent Agenda

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the consent agenda including June 24 meeting minutes, business reports, and open enrollment requests. Motion carried unanimously.

Pest Control Bid

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to accept the pest control bid from Sellers Pest Control for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Fuel Bid

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to accept the United Farmers Cooperative bid for gas, diesel, and propane for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Snow Removal Bid

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Blackman to accept the snow removal bid from Green Tree Company for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Trash Disposal Bid

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to accept the trash disposal bid from Batten Sanitation for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Continuation of July 8, 2019 Meeting Minutes-Page 2

Closed Session per Iowa Code Sections 21.5(1)(i) and 21.5(1)(a)

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Bryce Johnson to enter closed session per Section 21.5(1)(i) of the Iowa Code to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session and per section 21.5(1)(a) of the Iowa Code to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential at 7:22 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Exited Closed Session at 7:31 p.m.

Transportation Director Contract Renewal

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to not renew Transportation Director Diana Wesbrook's contract for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Shared Transportation Director

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Blackman to share a Transportation Director with Sidney Community School District .2 FTE for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Shared Human Resources

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to share Human Resources Director with East Mills Community School District .2 FTE for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Bus Driver Incentives

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to provide a \$50 stipend per month for people that hold a valid CDL license and drive the bus at least once per month during the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

RTI Service for Jr/Sr High School

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the Riverside Technologies Inc. bid to provide programming and configuration of switches and servers at the Junior/Senior High School. Motion carried unanimously.

Auction Advertisement

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to advertise personal property items for auction in the newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Personnel Considerations

Hiring of Accounting Clerk will be on next agenda.

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to approve the resignation of Amy Confer as Middle School Student Council Co-Sponsor effective at the end of the 2018-2019 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the resignation of Christy Rea ad Middle School Student Council Co-Sponsor. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Carlson to add 15 extended days to the 2019-2020 contract for Leanne Fluckey. Motion carried unanimously.

Continuation of July 8, 2019 Meeting Minutes-Page 2

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Blackman to issue contracts to the Home School Assistance teachers for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously. Termination of the Before/After School Para Professionals will be on the next agenda. Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the hire of Brittany Wiig as an Elementary Special Education Instructor for the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Reports

Several teachers are attending Math Training this summer.

The superintendent and principals will be attending some of the SAI Conference.

Board Member Requested Items

Listing of the positions with extended days on their contracts.

Goal setting meeting.

Financial picture of where the construction project is at time of completion.

Possible Grand Opening for students and parents to visit the Jr/Sr High School before school starts and dedication/unveiling when new gym is complete.

Adjournment

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to adjourn the meeting at 8:08 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Next Board of Directors Meeting	Monday, July 22, 2019 – 7:00 p.m. Red Oak Inman Primary Media Center Red Oak CSD Inman Primary Campus
Mark Johnson, President	Deb Drey, Board Secretary